The origin of the main building reaches back to the early 18th century. On the ceiling of the dining room, called "the Binna", among the names of the people, the house was built for, there is also engraved the year 1727. Until 1985 it was a regular living space, without any electricity and water. Workers from the famous Gornergrat Railway used to live here more than 100 years ago.
In 1985/6, our parents renovated the main building to a modern cottage with a separate apartment. The restoration of the "Trächa" (the stable right next to the street) was in 1990/1. The stable in the north was used as a pantry and basement, but would have collapsed within the next few years.
After about two years of planning, in 2000 there was the last renovation and combination. Our goal was to combine all three buildings while keeping all the old wood and the unique character of every building. The connecting part between the buidings and the new part in the north east are a modern contrast. The biggest challenge was the stairway in the middle of the house, that connects eight different floors within the three buildings.